Foxworth Just Short of NFLPA President

Domonique Foxworth wasn’t elected president of the NFLPA, but he might not be far off.

Posted by Mike Duffy on Monday, March 15th, 2010 at 2:53 pm | Categories: Mike Duffy

Free agent center Kevin Mawae may have been unanimously re-elected as president of the NFL Players Association, but Ravens cornerback Domonique Foxworth may not be far off from claiming that mantle.
By all reports coming out of last weekend’s player representative meeting in Maui, Foxworth has a bright future with the NFLPA. 
Liz Mullen of SportsBusiness Daily wrote that the vote between Foxworth and Mawae was close, but Mawae’s experience secured the position for him.

“They are very close and they promised each other before they ran…that they were going to stay together and stay united,” Arizona Cardinals safety Ralph Brown said, according to SportsBusiness Daily.

Mawae has been on the NFLPA executive committee since 2002 and a player rep for five years.
The youngest member of the NFLPA executive board, Foxworth has been an outspoken leader regarding union issues.  Unity among the group is critical at a time when the league heads into a 2010 campaign without a salary cap, the collective bargaining agreement scheduled to expire in March 2011 and a potential work-stoppage.

“I’m thankful and humbled by my re-election as president of the NFL Players Association,” Mawae said in a statement. “I believe it shows the faith and belief that the board has in me and my ability to continue to lead the players of the NFL through a period of uncertainty.”
Mawae will serve a two-year term.
In addition to Foxworth and Mawae, Drew Brees, Brian Dawkins, Tony Richardson, Jeff Saturday and Mike Vrabel serve as executive committee members.  They were joined by new electees Charlie Batch, Scott Fujita, Sean Morey and Brian Waters.

Tags: , , , ,